P572

Sol Hess & the Sympatik’s – The Things We Know

12772015_1014319105280414_8871014652673319273_o

Disponible : P572 SHOP + Le Knock Out (Canada) /Catulle & Ramón SHOP + Total Heaven (France)

Trois ans après Hanadasan, Sol Hess (Sweat Like An Ape!, Docteur Culotte & the Everlasting Love Remedy…) revient aux côtés de ses Sympatik’s pour un deuxième album, The Things We Know. L’album explore un peu plus loin les terrains abordés dans leur premier opus, baladant l’auditeur au travers de décors sonores envoutants, la new-wave flirtant avec le post-rock, les chansons de crooners enivrantes avec un post-punk épique et extravagant. L’album a été enregistré et mixé par Stephan Krieger, ingénieur incontournable dans son studio Amanita, et légendaire charpentier du bruit blanc des années ’90, avec notamment son groupe Voodoo Muzak. Marie Möör, reine et légende des enfers de la chanson new-wave et expérimentale française a écrit une préface poétique pour le disque. The Things We Know sort à la fois en vinyle, CD et digital chez Catulle & Ramón Records en France et chez P572 au Canada le 15 mars 2016.
//
Three years after Hanadasan, Sol Hess (Sweat Like An Ape !, Docteur Culotte & the Everlasting Love Remedy…) is back with the Sympatik’s, for their second album,The Things We Know. This new opus explores grounds covered in their first a little further, immersing the listener in an ample soundscape of new-wave, post-rock and intoxicating crooner ballads philandering with flamboyant post-punk. The album was engineered by Stephan Krieger – major actor of the 90’s noise scene, in particular with his band Voodoo Muzak – in his studio Amanita, in Anglet, France. Marie Möör, legendary queen of the french underground new-wave, contributed a foreword to the record. The Things We Know will be released on Catulle & Ramón Records in France and on P572 in Canada, on vinyl, CD & digital on 15th March 2016.

Sol Hess & the Sympatik's

P572 HIVER 2016 FANZINE

P572 Hiver 2016 Fanzine

Bientôt la fin du 12e hiver P572. 800 spectacles et 65 albums plus tard, nous avons encore le coeur à la bonne place pour faire des projets étranges et expérimentaux, que ce soit des disques, des fanzines ou des tournées à travers le monde. P572 c’est depuis toujours deux amis qui collaborent en création avec tous les artistes incroyables qui les entourent. On joue de la musique et on joue à la compagnie de disques, toujours entre les archives et le futur. L’hiver est presque terminé et le plus beau disque de la saison sort quelques jours avant le printemps. Sol Hess & the Sympatik’s – The Things We Know, un album envoûtant de tristesse infinie. Entre la fiction des livres et les chansons d’amour il faut toujours inventer de nouvelles choses. Ça va être une année magnifique. La neige va fondre et on va avoir entre nos mains des parutions deluxe de Lesbo Vrouven, Alaclair Ensemble, L’Orchestre d’Hommes-Orchestres, Fabien Cloutier et Juste Robert. Wow x l’infini.

P572, two friends who are endlessly amazed by the creative process and its end results, are now officially in their 12th year. 800 shows and 65 albums later, we are still putting our hearts and souls into beautiful, experimental projects, be they music, zines or tours around the world. While it’s undeniably fun to play music, it’s also fun to play around with the record label and structure it all into beautiful disarray. We always find ourselves somewhere between the archives and the future. The winter is coming to an end and now, just a couple of days before spring is here, we will be releasing The Things We Know, a delightful album of infinite sadness by Sol Hess & the Sympatik’s. This will be a wonderful year: soon the snow will melt and in our hands we will hold amazing deluxe releases by Lesbo Vrouven, Alaclair Ensemble, L’Orchestre d’Hommes-Orchestres, Fabien Cloutier and Juste Robert. So instead of scrolling down forever, it’s time to look up and find inspiration. Wrap yourself up in all of this fiction and create something new with your friends.

Oromocto Diamond

Oromocto Diamond + Pentagon Black Compilation No.1

Oromocto Diamond - Pentagon Black Compilation

The new OROMOCTO DIAMOND single is part of PENTAGON BLACK COMPILATION NO.1. A 23-song « paper compilation » digital download coupled with a large format 20×30″ newsprint poster. Released by Pentagon Black of Montreal as a 23-song « paper compilation » digital download coupled with a large format 20×30″ newsprint poster. Digital tracks can be downloaded via code found on the inverse of the poster itself. Art by Famines singer/guitarist Raymond Biesinger.

SIDE A
1. “Born 2 B Abused,” Sam Coffey & The Iron Lungs (Toronto, samcoffeyandtheironlungs.bandcamp.com)
2. “Melted Like A Witch,” Beef Boys (Peterborough, facebook.com/bbponks)
3. “Morgantown,” Beat Cops (Montreal, beatcops.bandcamp.com)
4. “Orbit,” The Yips (Ottawa, yips613.bandcamp.com)
5. “Hot Glue,” Kappa Chow (Toronto, kappachow.bandcamp.com)
6. “Fried Blood,” Esther Grey (Guelph, esthergrey.bandcamp.com)
7. “Doctor Guitar,” I Smell Blood (London, ismellblood.bandcamp.com)
8. “Window,” Lonely Parade (Peterborough, thelonelyparade.com)
9. “Reasons,” Century Palm (Toronto, centurypalm.com)
10. “Gethen,” Heathers (Montreal, heathers1988.bandcamp.com)
pentagon black b
11. “O to F,” Oromocto Diamond (Quebec, oromoctodiamond.bandcamp.com)
12. “Genocide,” Whoop-Szo (London, thenoisymountain.bandcamp.com)

SIDE B
13. “In Through Beyond,” Usse (Saint John, usse.bandcamp.com)
14. “Monogamy,” Child Actress (Calgary, childactress.bandcamp.com)
15. “Pants And A Face,” Bonnie Doon (Ottawa, bonniedoon.bandcamp.com)
16. “Don’t Read The News,” TV Freaks (Hamilton, teeveefreakzz.bandcamp.com)
17. “Zero Hour,” Teledrome (Calgary, facebook.com/teledrometeledrome)
18. “Crosswalk Talk,” Phern (Montreal, phern.bandcamp.com)
19. “The State Of Music,” the Famines (Montreal, thefamines.ca)
20. “Nature Man,” Strange Attractor (Sudbury, strangeattractor.bandcamp.com)
21. “Sleep Toss Duvet,” LAPS (Fredericton, lapsband.tumblr.com)
22. “The Bad Thing,” Couleur Dessin (Montreal, couleurdessin.bandcamp.com)
23. “Corrected Canada Food Guide,” Haunted Souls (Saskatoon, hauntedsouls.bandcamp.com)

Chart Attack: www.chartattack.com/features/2016/03/10/pentagon-black-compilation-paper/
BRBR: www.brbrtfo.com/actualite/pentagon-black-offensive-canadienne